Windows

Sometimes, I look out my window in the morning and I watch the sun rise with effortless majesty. And I know there is a God who is so big and so beautiful that He can’t be contained in a sunrise- so He flows into the brightness of commanding the whole day.

Then I come to work, and I look through a different window. And I see the faces of countless lost and hurting people who break my heart with their cry for mercy and desperate search for a glimmer of hope. I feel helpless sometimes. But in reality, I’m like the mountains- just standing still and letting God’s light shine over me and around me and somehow, they see strength and God’s glory makes me look like I have something to offer.

And then I get in my car to drive to pick up my kids or go home or go pay bills or whatever calls for my attention, and I look through a window that is spattered with bugs and dust and patterns of the occasional rain drop from days ago. Currently I also see the 18 inch crack that grows a little every day that came as a result of someone else unknowingly running over a rock that propelled into the corner of my shield. They didn’t mean it, and don’t even know they did it, and I realize there’s a lot of stuff like that in life. I wonder how many windshields I’ve cracked?

Finally I’m home. Back in my room with a view. I see those majestic mountains with the twinkling ribbon of city lights laying poetically at their base. The lesser light brings purple peace and I rest in knowing I’ve done what I have been asked to do to serve others for the Glory of God.

The eyes are the window to the soul. If the eyes are good, the whole body is good. If you look into my eyes, and see into my soul- I pray you’ll find the glory of a sunrise, the stability of the mountain, the mercy of a Savior, the peace of a lesser light.

“The eye is the lamp of the body. If your eyes are healthy, your whole body will be full of light. (Matthew 6:22 (NIV)

7 thoughts on “Windows

  1. Deana
    , Everything about you is all about Jesus. Your eyes are crystal clear to His Purpose, you are a wonderful witness of Christ’s love.
    Thank you,
    Love Annette

    1. Isn’t it ironic? Those rocks that break our windshields are found on a paved highway- where they aren’t supposed to be. And words that cut and wound others are misplaced as well.

Leave a Reply

