It’s been a while

Some months are harder than others and I think 2011’s hard months all got together and joined forces.  I’ve been evaluating a lot of things. Contemplating my approach to life, family, ministry, work, joy and just about everything else. All I have come up with is, well, frankly, that I just don’t have any answers! And that’s okay.

I started a new job in July. It’s my first outward commitment to being in full-time ministry. Seems sort of crazy from the outside looking in. I took a part-time job for just a little above minimum wage as the Executive Director of a crisis pregnancy center.  It’s a faith-based center that offers the hope and healing of Christ to those women and families facing unplanned pregnancies.  And you know what? It feels completely right.

There are all of the normal challenges of trying to live life as a single income, single parent household on a part-time salary. And those challenges are so overwhelming. Yet, in being overwhelmed, I am completely dependent on Jesus to stand in the gap for me. And He has and He does and He will continue to do just that. He’s always been my bridge.

There are things I’m learning by working with people in crisis that I simply could not begin to fathom, had I not been in crisis a time or two myself.   My circumstances may look different from theirs, but feeling like you are facing overwhelming odds and burdened to the point of breaking because of your lack of options, is quite frankly, familiar territory.

Once again, God proves Himself sovereign.  How He uses these melting pot experiences to boil off the impurities and equip me/us for the work He has ahead.  There are going to be some new posts coming. About making decisions in the face of life’s biggest obstacles. About grieving and healing. About other things too. God seems to be reviving my etching business too, so we’ll talk sandblasting and other fun rock  and small business stuff.

I’ll let you go now, just wanted to check in and say thanks for following along and get ready for the winds of change to blow in a little different direction for a while.

Blessings!

2 thoughts on “It’s been a while

  1. What an exciting opportunity for you. You will be great. Preschoolers have been my passion for 25 years and so this job certainly touches a cord with me. I pray God blesses your efforts.

    Here’s a quote I recently stumbled upon. I think it is something you would like too.

    “When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left, and could say, ‘I used everything you gave me’.”
    Erma Bombeck

  2. That’s awesome, Deana! I will be praying for you, as you have been called to this ministry. My husband and I feel that God is calling us into a full-time Christian ministry. We don’t have all the details yet, but I feel that He is possibly calling me to go to seminary. So exciting to see God at work!

Leave a Reply

